Film Oddity: The Awkward Interview Response: Angelina Enjoys Scaring Little Children and Benedict Cumberbatch Is Ready When Julian Assange Goes After Him

Posted: August 11, 2013 in Movies

Angelina Jolie Enjoys

Scaring Little Children

630-malnificent-sleepingbeauty-jpg_155730

(Photo: Walt Disney/Everett Collection)

Angelina Jolie made a surprise appearance at the D23 Convention and revealed that she really loved scaring little children while in full wicked witch costume for Maleficent, the upcoming Sleeping Beauty remake that explores the story from Maleficent’s point of view.   “The strange thing was people with little kids would visit the set and I would think, ‘I’m a Disney character!'” Jolie told the crowd filled with Disney fans. “I’d go over to the children and say ‘hi,’ and they would scream and run off,” the 38-year-old actress said. “One little boy actually said, ‘Mommy, Please, tell the mean witch to please stop talking to me.'”  The only child not scared of Jolie in full Maleficent garb was her daughter Vivienne, who plays the young Aurora in the film.  “She was the only 4-year-old who wouldn’t scream,” noted Jolie.  “Since I was a little girl, Maleficent was always my favorite. I was terrified of her, but I was always drawn to her,”said Jolie.  She had this elegance and this grace, and yet she was so cruel — just wonderfully and deliciously cruel.”

Benedict Cumberbatch Is Ready

for Julian Assange to Go After Him

The Fifth Estate

Dreamworks

Benedict Cumberbatch is pretty sure he will get no rave reviews from Julian Assange for portraying the Wikileaks founder, in the Fifth Estate, the film about Assange and the early days of his website.   Even though director Bill Condon and Cumberbatch note that the film doesn’t attempt to villainize Assange, Assange has already dished the movie calling it “a massive propaganda attack,” in a Hollywood Reporter article.  In an interview with Entertainment Weekly Cumberbatch responded “”I’m sure he’ll go after me. … I’m not a bank with offshore accounts in the Canaries, I don’t fiddle my taxes, I’m not wanted for war crimes. If he goes after me, it’s going to be a waste of his extraordinary talent. But if he does, I kind of respect that because he needs to be able to answer back.”  Cumberbatch also goes on to note  “I hope if I’ve done well, I’ve probably humanized someone that many people only think of in tabloid headline terms. He’s an extraordinary figure. The movie was just the opportunity to try and unlock a little about who he is and what motivates him.”  If Assange does make a move Cumberbatch is pretty sure that his legion of female fans will rise to his defense.  “[T]he Cumberbitches have got my back, so I’ll be fine,” he jokes.

Leave a Reply

